Hello, Dear Reader

29 Mar

Welcome  to the Lady Heart blog.  The focus of this blog will be art, low art, fine art, the art in everyday life and culture.  As a practicing artist I would like to share my own artistic practice with you in the form of a series of recurring columns on the wealth of inspiration that is all around us.

You will see posts on the wonderful street art that is anonymously installed around the city of Toronto,  real street fashion, including a few of my own creations, and stories and photos of the wealth of old toys, cards and outdated products with wonderful retro typography and graphic design that are for sale at the small convenience stores around the city.

I will take you thrift shopping with me, showing you some of the amazing vintage books, jewelry, toys and housewares I find.  See what made the cut, what didn’t, and what I have selected to make available for sale to you, dear reader.

View the many items in my collections; old tin toys and dexterity games, vintage costume jewelry, Catholic devotional items, cardboard backed play sets, romance comics, vintage children’s text books and illustrated stories, items with black cats in the logo and more.

Check out some of the hilarious, sad and beautiful photos I’ve found on the ground, in old albums and in the garbage.  And speaking of garbage, you won’t believe some of the things I have found in the trash: retro furniture, tacky lamps, records, clothes, the list goes on.

I’ll post audio of some of the the amazing old children’s records I have found, as well as videos of some of the 8 and 16 millimeter films I’ve acquired, and my favorite pre-war  cartoons.

Be inspired by the wonderful  illustrations I’ve uncovered in old books; see wholesome children playing, female sleuths in flamboyant outfits, beautiful cromolithographs of flowers and anatomy.

Check out some of my favorite artists and their work, some  outsider artists, some more mainstream, and some, talented friends at the beginning of their careers.

Enjoy a voyeuristic look at the diaries of two young girls, written some forty years apart, as well as a look at my own art portfolio, as a sculpture/installationist, jeweler and photographer.

One of a kind clothes and accessories from the Lady Heart line, will be made available through etsy.com and ebay.

I hope you will feel inspired by the blog and develop, (or further develop) an appreciation for the kind of girly-low- art- pop- kitschy fun that inspires me, and informs my practice as an artist.

2 Responses to “Hello, Dear Reader”

  1. Chris March 29, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    Wow great blog! Very original and truly inspiring! I can’t wait to see more!!!

  2. BreOfficialBlog April 2, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Hello Hello Lady Heart ( May I call you that ) ?, I saw your comment on my blog and just wanted to stop by and say Thank You very much for your comment. Congratulations on your graduation from your university. That is truly wonderful. I do not believe I will pursue a degree in Art education( though considered at once or twice ), I absolutely do insist/hope on continuing to learn/do more Art myself as it is a great passion of mine. Also, that is a really good point about what you said about failures. I never thought of it in that way. Thank you again = )

    I saw your Bird Sculptures and they are Exquisite !! The detail is fantastic. Very talented.You have a beautiful blog and I surely look forward to future post = ).
    Have a lovely and safe week. God Bless
    ~Breana~

Leave a Reply

