Random Collections: The Other Vinyl

21 May

I love small items that are made out of vinyl, the kind that is soft and rubbery and heat-sealed at the edges, especially when it has something screen-printed on it.  I’ve collected a few fun retro pieces, which I would love to share with you, dear reader.

The first is this great Barbie photo album given to me by a friend.  I usually can’t stand this kind of album, with the plastic sleeves for photos, preferring the old fashioned gummed cardboard pages with plastic sheet protectors (more on those in a later post,) but I was willing to open my heart to this:

Barbie Photo album

Just stunning, in  my opinion, but it took a little effort to achieve this streamlined, uncluttered look.  For you see, when I first received this album, along with the words “Barbie” and “Photo Album” some thoughtless designer saw fit to have some awful flowers and butterflies printed randomly around the cover, marring the beautiful hot pink surface.  To get and idea of the terribleness of these images, check out the front picture in the album which is partially visible through the heart-shaped hole on the cover:

The picture of Barbie on the inside of the album

Do you see what my eyeballs had to endure?  There were flowers and butterflies of this type and other such debris cluttering up the cover.  But, fortunately for all of us, I was able to remove these abominations with some nail polish remover, thus saving the day.

The second vinyl item in my collection is a wonderful calender and address book circa 1950s that I found in the garbage outside a used book store one late night after leaving a punk show at The Opera House, a venue on Queen St. East here in Toronto:

Calender/address book from garbage

A close up of one of the inserts on the cover

The inside of the 50s address book

Close up of the Phone number side of book, I love the font and hearts printed on the page. The black and white photo is a smile flyer I made for a zine I put out several years ago.

Isn’t it cute?  I about died when I found it as I was about fourteen and just beginning to experience the possibilities of garbage picking and how it can enrich one’s life.  I loved the little clear pockets on the front, some of which had the original inserts inside, the rest I added myself from some Spice Girls postcards that could be purchased at that time in packets from convenience stores.

Next up is a diary I also found in the garbage one day.  It didn’t have any writing in it unfortunately, but I love the pop-art style candy images on the cover!

Vinyl Diary

Now that is a diary for writing about sleepovers, boys, make-up toys and kittens.  And speaking of kittens, check out this diary, which is the only non-vintage item in the collection:

Sparkle Kitten Diary

I bought this at Ardene’s, which is a store that caters to the pre-teen girl set and offers mostly cheap earrings, hair accessories and make-up.  I check out the store occasionally because sometimes there is some cheap girly plastic fun available for sale, such as the above diary.  However, much like the Barbie photo album it had some extraneous text at the top that said something like “Keep your paws off!”,  which is exactly the type of awful cutesy pun crap that I won’t stand for, and so it was up to the nail polish remover again to save my eyeballs from that hell, which it did, but with less perfect results than achieved on the Barbie album.

Next is a small vinyl purse with a little “Precious Moments” type child couple on it:

My Friend Purse

I really hate that “Precious Moments” crap they churn out, like all those cheap statues and cards with the saucer eyed children and puppies on them, but these two kids have a sort of vintage Hasbro/Japanese cartoon thing going for them that saves it.  Plus I love the detached caption at the top that simply declares “My Friend” without any specificity as to who it is attributed to or by.  I cannot remember where I picked up this purse, but it was probably either a garbage find, or a thrift store score.

And, to go with a little vinyl purse, what’s better than a little vinyl wallet, in this case, a pink Hawaiian Hula Girl wallet:

Aloha Hawaii wallet

This cute little wallet I got on eBay, and while I’m going to refrain from blogging to much about things I’ve gotten from eBay as they leave little story to tell about them, I wanted to include this in the collection because of the great multi-coloured silk-screen image on it.  I also love that this wallet came with a little removable insert inside where you can keep snapshots, something people don’t really carry in their wallets anymore because they can store pictures on their phones.  Ah the wallet photo album, a dying cultural practice due to the progress of technology.

But, what a great segue into the last piece in this random collection, a vinyl photo frame:

My little Pony Photo Frame

Isn’t this so cool?  it’s a puffed up vinyl photo frame with purple haired My Little Ponies on them, a mommy and a little baby!  It has a 1985 copyright on it, as well as years of smudged in dirt that just won’t come off!  I’ve stuck in an old photo I’ve found of a young girl.  I took this frame from the room of an ex-roommate of a girlfriend of mine while he was not home.  Don’t feel bad for him though, he turned out to be a real weirdie, and not in a good way, in fact, in a bad way, like, the worst possible way, ever, like, of all time.  Seriously.

Anyways, I hope I haven’t left too sinister a taste in your mouth for you to consider collecting fun vintage vinyl.  Every hipster doofus out there thinks their some unique rebel for collecting vinyl records, so earn yourself a few bonus hipster points by starting your own vinyl collection, an “The Other Vinyl” collection, just like your crush, Miss Lady Heart!

Sparkle Kitten Diary purchased at Ardene’s, at the Toronto Eatons Centre, 220 Yonge St., Toronto

2 Responses to “Random Collections: The Other Vinyl”

  1. pernicketypony June 2, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    Oh, cool! I love cute vinyl stationary and accessories.

    In case you were interested, the two ponies on your photo frame are Glory and Baby Glory.

  2. Thea Stuger January 15, 2013 at 10:36 am #

    Any chance tou want to sell your hawaii wallet? I have such dear memories to Hawaii.
    greetings Theadore

Leave a Reply

