Packaging: Never Open Here

24 May

I wrote in a previous post about the artistic merits of merchandise packaged under clear moulded plastic against colourful cardboard backings, (See: Princess Lovely’s Doctor Beautiful Dream Bride Pretty Set) and this goes not only for the above mentioned girl’s accessory sets, but also for household goods.  They have an awesome installative quality, and the plastic moulding also serves as a wonderful framing device, making these objects perfect to hang on the wall.  I always keep my eyes peeled when I’m out and about for these types of items, and you never know where you might find them.  Check out these packages, the photos and saturated colour elevate them into readymade art objects, if you ask me!

The first is a package of  hair pins that I found at a convenience store that has been a veritable goldmine for the type of worthless crap that only I buy:

Check out the gross, melted, broken rubber bands around the hair pin bundles!

This model has the confident yet sensuous look that is essential for modeling on hair pin packages.

It’s all so brilliant; the pink and grey colour scheme, the gradient of light to dark pink stripes, the beautiful model wearing a hairstyle that needs no pins, plus, the gross rubber bands.  It all really came together for this piece, no?

Along a similar vein, I found this great set of metal hair curlers from Value Village;  circa 1970s, this pink and orange hued set was manufactured by Goody:

Brush Rollers

Aren’t these colours fabulous? I’ve lightened the exposure to heighten the psychedelic effect

I found this with the shrink wrap on it still intact.  I love the little yellow hook at the top.  I realize that it was probably to hang it on the rack at the store, but it’s also perfect for hanging it on the wall, which I rushed home and did.

The next item is not a beauty aid, but it would have certainly beautified one’s kitchen:

Mighty Grip!

Good name eh?   I love the geometric shapes and primary colours employed in the design.  This is a type of jar opener I have never seen.  You are supposed to mount in on the underside of a cupboard and wedge the jar top in it and twist.  If you mount it there though, you wont be able to enjoy the bright orange plactic-ness of it, and if you open the package, you won’t be able to enjoy the orange plastic-ness and yellow, red and green cardboard-ness of it either!  You know, they say that yellow, red and orange are colours that make one hungry, and it must be true, because this package sure made me hungry for some Mighty Grip jar opening!

And finally, this last item is a set of jacks packaged together to be doled out as party favors to children:

Party Favors!

I love this package!  I love the suggestive, dreamy imagery of three coloured balloons floating in a clear blue sky.  Also, here in Canada it is the law that every product have both English and French writing on the package, and often the French translation is much cooler and funner to say, such as here, where party favors become the more intriguing sounding “Babioles”  Obviously these jacks and ball sets are meant to be divided up amongst child party guests in their loot-bags, but I say, why waste these babies on kids?  Breaking open this package would be a travesty in my opinion, and children could never understand or properly appreciate the sacrifice being made on their behalf, so why bother?  I mean, children can be so selfish, especially babies, am I right?  No real sense of priorities and what matters in the real world, you know?

Hair pins purchased at Sherwood Variety, 2574 Yonge St, Toronto

Hair rollers, jar opener and Babioles found at Value Village, 1319 Bloor St. W., Toronto

2 Responses to “Packaging: Never Open Here”

  1. Charlie May 24, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    My Mom used those kind of hair-rollers. It’s entirely possible that same package spent the 70’s moldering under our bathroom sink. It sure looks familiar.

  2. missladyheart May 25, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    Wow, you guys had those rollers and you gave them to charity? You have more generous souls than I. Thanks for commenting friend!

Leave a Reply

